Eden's Guide to Safe DMM Moneymaking for Non-PVPers

4 posters

Go down

Eden's Guide to Safe DMM Moneymaking for Non-PVPers Empty Eden's Guide to Safe DMM Moneymaking for Non-PVPers

Post by Eden Thu May 07, 2020 9:55 pm

I've been having such a grand time in DMM lately that I really wanted to share some of the methods I've found to ensure "safe" deaths in DMM.

Hokay,

First off, I am not very good at PvP. I'm nowhere near a tribrid level, my switches are garbage, and I simply don't have the quickness of reflexes to win high-level fights.

That's okay, because DMM presents a fantastic opportunity for players to think critically about the game and use a different sort of logic to advance wealth -- logic that generally would not apply in main OSRS.

So, a basic overview:

The current Deadman Mode (DMM) tournament is running for the month of May. It is a cutthroat open-PVP mode in which you can be attacked almost anywhere by anyone. If you die (unskulled) to a PKer, you lose everything in your inventory, plus the 10 most valuable stacks from your bank (this is important).

Note: If you die with a skull, meaning you attacked another player first, you *will* lose experience in most stats. If you die with no skull, you will never lose experience in your stats. All XP rates are increased by 10x to 15x, so leveling up is extremely quick.

Due to the nature of the tournament, items with high value for PvP are extremely sought after. Many, many players (myself included) are playing DMM with the express goal of swapping -- that is, trading DMM GP for OSRS GP. The rates between DMM/07 can vary between 1:4 and 1:20, sometimes even higher. Items such as Raids weapons, Tridents, Whips, Wilderness Weapons, and certain Barrows pieces can easily fetch tens, even hundreds of mills in 07 GP. For example, an Ahrim's Robetop would currently fetch roughly 7M in OSRS GP.

My strategy involves a few central concepts that are essential to minimizing losses while farming DMM gold: