+5
Virtual Luck
Spiritika
Tinnitus
Syllabic
LadyDunlop
9 posters

Go down

Hello... finally! Empty Hello... finally!

Post by LadyDunlop Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:47 pm

Hi Everyone,

I have been hanging out in the OSRS Advice cc for several months now, so I suppose it is high time to officially 'introduce' myself. I played RS back in the mid-2000s for a couple of years. At that time, online gaming, which included speaking with strangers, was a 'scary' concept for us parents... totally new territory at that time. My kids were really enjoying the game and talking about meeting all these people. So, I wanted to check it out before making any rash decisions about them playing the game or not. In the process, I got hooked too! I always allowed them to play, and we just made sure to have an open dialog about the dangers of sharing personal information with strangers. It was a good opportunity to help them learn how to safely navigate the internet, because obviously it was here to stay and was only going to grow.

That said, life got busy and I stopped playing, and I think around that time OSRS rolled into I guess what is now RS3??? The new format just wasn't for me. Fast forward about a dozen years. One of my kids mentioned he had started to play OSRS again. What??? Well, here I am, back on the RS I remember (albeit with some of the old content gone, but lots of new content as well). I plan to keep playing as long as I find the game entertaining and relaxing. It's also nice to have a group like OSRS Advice, so while you are doing your own thing, you aren't exactly alone either.